The Babysitter’s Here

Am I the only one who cringes when a woman says, “oh, my husband is babysitting tonight.” or alternatively, and actually more annoying, when a man says, “I’m babysitting today” when the babysitting refers to his own children?

Apparently, the census bureau also considers men caring for their own children as babysitting or a “child care arrangement”. But women caring for their own children is just… What’s expected.

I’d go into great depth about why this is a problem, why it matters, why you should be outraged, except that it’s late, and I’m tired and Kristin Maschka already wrote it… Better than I could.

You should read this article by Kristin Maschka, and this one from Motherlode which is where the discussion started, and then tell me…. How is that acceptable?

5 Comments

  1. Pingback: Communication problems | Side Quest Publications

Leave a Reply

