Cover it with chocolate and a miracle or two

On a recent family grocery shopping trip, Goose saw me put a bag of small chocolate eggs into the cart.  I intended to bring them to my office for the community candy jar.

When we got home, Goose asked if she could have one.  I said, “No.” and explained that I planned to take them to work.

Later that day, the kids had some friends over.

“Mommy, can I give chocolate eggs to my friends?”

The look on her face was so precious and she was trying so hard to be a good hostess that I relented, and handed her enough eggs to give one to each of her friends, her brothers and one for herself.  She ran off to deliver the eggs and returned to me.

“Mommy, can I give Miss SheNayNay an egg, too?” she asked gesturing to her friends’ mom.

“Sure,” I said, “But then that’s it.  The rest of the eggs are going to mommy’s office.”

After her friends left, she asked if she could have another chocolate egg.  I reminded her that they were going to work with me on Monday.  A few hours later, she asked again.  My reply was the same.  She asked again at bedtime. I repeated myself once more.

The following morning, Goose came downstairs and instead of “Good morning” or even just “Hi”, she said, “Mommy, can I please have a chocolate egg for breakfast?”  I said no, and reminded her about the deserving people at my office who would like one.  She continued asking every hour or so until finally I had reached my limit. I believe it was 9am.

“Goose,” I told her with thinly veiled exasperation, “if you say the words ‘chocolate egg’ one more time I am going to explode. Do you understand?”

She nodded slowly… and then… she said, “Later, can I have a chocolate egg?”

Buddy grabs her arm with great urgency and says, “Goosie!!! You better run!!!”

And she did.  She ran away and stood wide-eyed and blinking at the far end of the room.  Buddy was ducking behind the kitchen island.  Both of them were looking at me expectantly.  Now what was I supposed to do?  I couldn’t actually explode, but I felt like I owed them a show of some sort.  After a moment, I started to laugh.  The whole scene was just too funny.

I gave them each a chocolate egg and ditched the rest of the bag.  They were too funny not to give them some, but I couldn’t deal with Goose asking again.  The only way to end it was to eliminate the source of her obsession.

Now, I’m left to contemplate various methods for creating a faux explosion should such a famous opportunity present itself again.  I wouldn’t want to disappoint them.

Leave a Reply

