All the women who are independent….

A few weeks ago, I used the snow-blower.  It was the first time ever.

I just heard half of you say, “Big Deal.”  Step off.

I decided that it was time I learned how to use the damn snow-blower earlier this winter.

Typically, this is hubby’s “job”, and I am happy to wait patiently in the house while clears the driveway, but lately, I’ve been thinking.  Why is it his job?  Why can’t I do it?  What if I needed to do it?  I don’t even know how to start it.”

I tried to think of things that I do that he doesn’t so I could justify my continued ignorance.  There are the usual things: scheduling the doctors appointments, keeping up with preschool agenda, choosing the kids’ clothes every morning.   But ultimately, he could do any of those things if I asked him.  I just haven’t.  He already does laundry, dishes, etc.  So really, there isn’t anything that he absolutely couldn’t do without my help.  Certainly, I rely on him to do lots of things that I prefer not to do (take out the garbage, address spiders and other crawly things, etc), but some things I simply would not have any idea how to do without him.

There was the snow-blower, which I’ve already mentioned, but you can add using the lawnmower, the generator, and the grill. How exceedingly girly of me. And how silly, too. I’ve always prided myself on being able to manage basic car maintenance (except changing a tire, that’s going on the list, too), and here I have let all these other things slide by in the convenience of my cozy marriage.

So I asked him to give me a snow-blower tutorial, and I got to test it out a few days later.  We got out of bed in the morning to a pile of snow.  He asked if I was going out that day.  I told him that I wasn’t and he decided he’d handle the driveway after work.  I took the opportunity to apply what I had learned.

It wasn’t pretty.  The driveway had thin strips of deep snow in between the passes that I had done with the blower because I went too fast and didn’t overlap enough, but that didn’t matter.  Pretty wasn’t the point.

The point was that I went out and I did it.  By myself.  And I did it well enough that I could have easily gotten the Swagger Wagon out of the driveway… even though I didn’t have anywhere to go.

It turns out that there was a purpose for all the snow this winter.

It reminded me that I’m a capable human being.  I get it.  And now, I’m ready for spring.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

